“It is hard to describe the variety of styles this outstanding ensemble provides, there are, thank god, no categories that match them.”

—Gisela Spandler, Der Bote

Up to 2006, J.J.P. and friends performed their program “Planet der Affen”(Planet of the Apes) ranging from classical and minimal music to avant-garde and free jazz. Among others, they played works by John Cage, George Gershwin, Johann Strauß senior, Shostakovich, Astor Piazzolla, Herbie Hancock and Josef Matthias Hauer, a composer from Vienna, who was the first to write an entire piece using twelve tone technique (“Nomos”, 1919). In 2005, they cooperated with contrabassist Lizzy Aumeier, producing and performing their “Sonderkonzert”. In those days J.J.P. and friends also cultivated a new style of performance called “Art Attack”.

In the years 2007 and 2008, the ensemble ran a new experiment and developed a program on country music. During this temporary excursus from classical music into the subject of Hank Williams, Johnny Cash et al. they were supported by bassist Rolf Scharrer. The highlight of 2009 was eventually a joint concert with Altdorf-based Ensemble Rubato. On this occasion, J.J.P. and friends performed, once more with Rolf Scharrer at the bass, parts of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Goldberg Variations as well as Ney Rosauro’s concerto for marimbaphone with soloist Tobias Herrmann.

“Die Eingriffe in die Binnenform ermöglichen eine ‘Nachkomposition’, der eine Quadratur des Kreises gelingt, nämlich die Übertragung der repräsentativen Kollektivgattung Sinfonie auf einen kleinen Klangapparat”

—Beat Kornfeld über kv 550

In November 2010, J.J.P. and friends gave the concert “Sinfonie-Konzert” in Altdorf’s historic university building. Along with compositions by Moondog, Anton von Webern, Chuck Berry, Laurence Sherr, and Max Geyer, the focus lay on the ensemble’s latest project, which they had been working on for the preceding two years: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s symphony in G minor, kv 550, as an adaptation for four instrumentalists. The ensemble’s arrangement is situated between classic, expressionism, minimal music, and Balkan jazz. In this, J.J.P. and friends aimed at maintaining both the setup and the compositional idea of the original’s four movements, yet supplying its structure with a new foundation. Therefore, rhythm and repetitive elements gain a more important role whereas melody and harmonies are put into a functionally different context.

In December 2011, J.J.P. and friends’ latest performance, titled “Adventskonzert”, took place in the cinema hall of Altdorf’s KinoKulturKneipe Graffiti. Together with a chamber choir set up specifically for this concert, they played amongst others the chorale “Ich steh’ an Deiner Krippen hier”. Their adaptation followed the concept of medieval organa as composed at the time of the Notre Dame school in the 12th and 13th century.

“Das Stil-Spektrum dieses ungewöhnlichen Ensembles lässt sich nur schwer umreißen, es gibt – gottseidank – keine Schubladen dafür”

—Gisela Spandler, Der Bote

Bis 2006 konzertierten J.J.P. and friends mit dem Programm „Planet der Affen“, bestehend aus Klassik, Minimal Music, Avantgarde und Free Jazz. Unter anderem spielten sie Werke von John Cage, George Gershwin, Johann Strauß (Vater), Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Astor Piazzolla, Herbie Hancock und dem Wiener Komponisten Josef Matthias Hauer, der mit „Nomos“ (1919) das erste Musikstück in reiner Zwölfton-Technik schrieb. 2005 gaben sie das „Sonderkonzert“ zusammen mit der Bassistin Lizzy Aumeier. Außerdem kultivierten J.J.P. and friends in dieser Zeit die Aufführungsform der „Art Attack“.

In den Jahren 2007 und 2008 wagte sich das Ensemble an ein neues Experiment und erstellte ein Programm im Bereich der Country-Musik. Unterstützt bei diesem zwischenzeitlichen Ausritt weg von der klassischen Musik hinein ins Sujet von Hank Williams, Johnny Cash et al. wurden sie von dem Bassisten Rolf Scharrer. Der musikalische Höhepunkt des Jahres 2009 schließlich war ein gemeinsames Konzert mit dem Altdorfer Ensemble Rubato. Dabei spielten J.J.P. and friends Teile aus Bachs Goldberg Variationen mit Rolf Scharrer sowie mit dem Solisten Tobias Herrmann das Konzert für Marimbaphon von Ney Rosauro.

“Die Eingriffe in die Binnenform ermöglichen eine ‘Nachkomposition’, der eine Quadratur des Kreises gelingt, nämlich die Übertragung der repräsentativen Kollektivgattung Sinfonie auf einen kleinen Klangapparat”

—Beat Kornfeld über kv 550

Im November 2010 waren J.J.P. and friends im Betsaal des Altdorfer Wichernhauses mit ihrem „Sinfonie-Konzert“ zu sehen. Neben Werken von Moondog, Anton von Webern, Chuck Berry, Laurence Sherr und Max Geyer stand dabei das bislang größte Projekt des Ensembles im Zentrum, an dem sie die vorhergehenden zwei Jahre gearbeitet hatten: Mozarts große G-Moll-Sinfonie, kv 550, in einer Bearbeitung für vier Instrumentalisten, die sich in einem musikalischen Raum zwischen Klassik, Expressionismus, Minimal Music und Balkanjazz bewegt. In der Fassung des Ensembles wurde Wert darauf gelegt, musikalische Struktur und kompositorische Idee der vier Sätze zu erhalten, diese aber mit einem veränderten Gerüst zu unterlegen. Im Endergebnis bekommen die rhythmischen und repetitiven Elemente eine bedeutendere Rolle, Melodie und Harmonien des Originals erscheinen in einem funktional anderen Kontext.

Zuletzt gaben J.J.P. and friends im Dezember 2011 das „Adventskonzert“ im Kinosaal der KinoKulturKneipe Graffiti. Mit einem eigens für die Aufführung ins Leben gerufenen Kammerchor brachten sie dabei unter anderem eine Choralbearbeitung von „Ich steh’ an Deiner Krippen hier“ zur Aufführung, die dem Konzept mittelalterlicher Organa folgt, wie sie in der Zeit der Notre-Dame-Schule des 12. und 13. Jahrhunderts komponiert wurden.